Writer’s Digest Conference 2016

The Writer’s Digest Annual Conference is taking place August 12 – 14 at the New York Hilton Midtown, and guess what, I’ll be there!

I’ve never been to a writer’s conference. I’ve thought about attending before, but since I live all tucked away up here in Canada under a pile of snow, it’s a bit of an undertaking and it has never quite come together for me. This is the year!  I’ve read Writer’s Digest magazine for years and used their Second Draft services as well. I follow the blogs of their editors and enjoy their articles and tweets. These are informative people and it will be pretty cool to meet them in person.

I’ve also never been to New York. This adventure is still in the early planning stages, but I’ve bought my registration for the conference, including the pitch slam and the hotel is booked. What to expect from a writing conference? Well, I really don’t know. The schedule is just starting to take shape on their website, but it looks like many incredible authors and agents will be giving workshops and participating in panels on many different aspects of the writing life. If nothing else, it will be great to be surrounded by a bunch of other enthusiastic writers for a few days. I like my own company as much as the next writer, but a little boost of comradery in this largely solitary pursuit can go a long way.

The next few months will be spent making travel arrangements and deciding which of the many offerings of the conference I want to attend beside the pitch slam. I’ve got some research to do about what to expect and how to be prepared, especially for the pitch slam, but I’m excited about this opportunity. I look forward to meeting some like-minded folks and maybe even get a few requests for my manuscript. There will certainly be plenty to learn.

If anyone knows some good resources to help me prepare or if you’ve been to one of these before, please comment! I’d love to hear about your experiences.

The early bird pricing ended January 31, but you can still register until April 1 for a better rate. I’ll be blogging about this more in the months ahead, I’m sure. One thing we know as writers is that you have to continually invest in the craft of writing and this seems like a great opportunity to do so.

Check out the website for all the details, see you in New York!

About eemoxam

I work at the library and write stuff because books are cool. I like dogs.

Posted on February 14, 2016, in Articles, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

