Lost in a Book…My Own

I haven’t been blogging much lately, but to be fair I haven’t been doing much of anything besides working full-time and editing my manuscript since I got back from summer holidays.

I like blogging.  I like reading, music, concerts.  I like the beach, summer, barbeques, patios.  I like being involved in the London Writers Society, wildlife rehabilitation and learning to play the violin, badly.  All of these likes have suffered this year, but the beneficiary is my manuscript.  I recently updated some of my computer software and it informed me that I opened my edit file in March, 2012.  That means that when I’m done I will probably be a few months shy of two years of just editing, never mind the writing or post editing work.  I don’t know whether to be inspired or depressed by this information.

Writing must be either a labour of love or madness.  It’s probably a mixture of the two since it’s a peculiar endeavor to begin with.  That date, March, 2012 really hit me.  Over a year of my life, just editing.  I can’t even comprehend the number of hours, I honestly would not want to know.  I think about my book all of the time, it wakes me up in the middle of the night from a dead sleep, this story, these characters, my own words and ideas, how arrogant to be obsessed with your own fantastic thoughts?  The time I have spent from story conception, writing the first couple of drafts and now editing is several years and by the time I see this manuscript through to publication, and by god, I will, it will be a few more.  What a strange thing to spend so much time in a fantasy of my own making.

Everyone balances multiple lives.  We are different things to different people, different beings in different settings.  We are different people at home then we are at a night club, different personalities at work and on vacation, we alter ourselves, even if it’s only slightly depending on our surroundings and the people we are with.  Writers have another life to add to the list, their story lives, which are  basically worlds of make-believe that they spend an unhealthy amount of time in, often to the detriment of some of their other lives.

I have entered the last hundred pages of my manuscript.  I feel confident that all of the work I have done since March, 2012 has been thorough and bloody good.  There is finally a light at the end of the tunnel.  One day in the next few years, I will be done with this manuscript, this book, this story, this world.  After spending so much time there, I can’t help but wonder when that time finally comes, will I be ready to leave it behind?

About eemoxam

I work at the library and write stuff because books are cool. I like dogs.

Posted on August 23, 2013, in Articles, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for dipping back into the blog to catch us up on your progress. You’ve got what it takes: doggedness.

  2. Thanks for following my progress! I hope you’re right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

