Summer Colds…Makes Me Feel Crappy

English: Miniature of the sick-bed of Louis le...

English: Miniature of the sick-bed of Louis le Gros, with doctors administering medicine with a spoon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the second summer in a row that I have come down with a pretty nasty cold.  I don’t know why this is, but my usual (and blessed) rugged good health has been body slammed into submission by ninja germs that have no mercy.  Usually I progress through a three stage sick process that goes something like this:

Stage One:  Random day, something feels a little off, scratchy throat, something is amiss.  Perform ordinary duties, but with a sense of foreboding.

Stage Two:  Next day, feel like a complete piece of crap.  Sleep all day and wallow in misery.  Screw ordinary duties, must sulk.

Stage Three:  Next morning, some of the haze has lifted and I am very bored.  Resume ordinary duties out of both stubbornness and the hint of recovery.

At most, all of these stages might stretch out over a four-day period.  Today is day fourteen of this cold.  Granted, I’m on the cusp of health again, but each stage took about five days to go through, five!  What a miserable experience.  I live in Canada and getting one good wallop by a virus each winter just goes with the territory, but this summer stuff, I don’t know.  Being sick in bed while the sun is shining, the birds are chirping and kids are playing outside is infinitely worse.  Plus, you get to tack seasonal allergies onto the cold, which is awesome.

Where I live in Canada, you’re looking at about three solid months of good, summer weather – June, July and August.  May and September can be nice too, but it’s a crap shoot and I just spent two weeks of precious June mired in mucus.  Needless to say my manuscript edit suffered greatly.  I actually did a bit of work on it once I entered the recovery stage, but it is impossible to think and process words with the virus crushing your soul.  I was proud of myself for trying, but I was not successful writing and editing while sick.  That actually disappointed me quite a bit, I like to think I can push through anything if I try.

On the upside, and there has to be an upside, I go on holidays next week, by which point I will be well recovered and possess the temporary immunity from illness that having a cold provides.  That means my holidays should be sick-free.  If there is anything worse than a summer cold that lasts two weeks, it must be a summer cold that lasts two weeks and strikes while on your two-week vacation.  Thankfully I won’t have to deal with that.  For the first time I am taking my current writing project with me on holiday.  I have mixed feelings about this, but I’m afraid that if I let it stagnate for two weeks I will lose the awesome momentum I’ve had going, so I’m going to bring it with me.  We’ll just have to wait and see how that goes.

About eemoxam

I work at the library and write stuff because books are cool. I like dogs.

Posted on June 23, 2013, in Cars and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

