Writing Communities

Orson Welles, March 1, 1937

Orson Welles, March 1, 1937 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been writing for a long time, published a few times, and keep on moving along like the proverbial tortoise, go tortoise!  Anyway, I like to think that in that time I’ve gained some smidgen of insight into something to do with writing.

When people ask me about writing resources, I have a few staples that I recommend right away.  For a long time, one of those has been the Writer’s Digest Community.  This has been a great little place for information, blogs, and to connect with other writers.  I’ve been a member for a long time and I always recommend it to other writers, as a special bonus, the community is free.

A little while ago I got an email informing me that as of November 30, the Writer’s Digest Community is shutting down.  That made me sad.  I’m not sure why it is closing, I assume so that the good people at Writer’s Digest can focus their energy on more financially beneficially projects.  Whatever the reason, I will be sad to see it go.  I started reading so many blogs from this site, got so many helpful hints and tips and met so many other awesome writers.  I have always been a big fan of Writer’s Digest magazine, as well as their many publications, newsletters, forums and tutorials, and that won’t change, but I will still miss this valuable resource.

All this got me thinking about the writer’s group in the city I live in.  I have been a member for several years and was even vice president for two of them.  That said, I hadn’t been to an actual physical meeting in a while.  Why?  Oh well, you know, laundry, oil changes, work, dogs, writing, travel, summer, volunteering, you know how these lists go, excuse after excuse.  The week I found out about the end of the online community just happened to be the week of the general monthly meeting for the London Writers Society and I went.  The place was packed, (we get a nice upturn in membership when the weather starts to nosedive) it was a great meeting with lots of ideas and great conversation.  It was at one of those meetings, several years ago now, where I first met other writers and realized I wasn’t a freak show.  Well, I still was, but it was okay because I’m a writer.  I’ve made some great friends there over the years and I hope to make many more.

To say writing is a lonely pursuit is a big goofy cliché, but it is.  For most writers, that’s part of its appeal.  I love spending hours by myself, picking away, lost in a story and a character, a world unto itself.  That said, having support, encouragement and the advice of other writers is a valuable and often elusive resource.  I will miss the online community at Writer’s Digest, but I think I will start making a regular appearance at the general meeting of the London Writers Society again.  At the last meeting I saw a dude who looked just like a young Orson Welles, but I didn’t get a chance to talk to him.  You just never know who you might run into.

About eemoxam

I work at the library and write stuff because books are cool. I like dogs.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

